Standouts of the 2012 Holiday Season Sets

It’s the beginning of November, which means it’s one of my favorite times of the year.

It’s that time when makeup brands release their holiday sets! I always say that this is hand-down the best time to buy makeup. Why? Well, holiday sets can also translate into…value sets! (Who doesn’t love a great makeup deal?) Sets always deliver the best products in one (usually very cute) package for an unbeatable price.

So, without further ado, here are my picks:

Each category is listed by price (low-to-high).

EYES

  • Fresh: Fresh Eyes Lash Loving Duo ($10.00): Anything Fresh is a go-to for me, and this price is pretty unbeatable. A great introductory set for someone unfamiliar with the brand.
  • Stila: Stay All Day Mascara & Waterproof Liquid Liner Duo ($20.00): Obsessed with both of these products, especially the liner. I used it every day for a cat eye last year and I probably will never use another liquid liner. These are minis, so they are great for travel or throwing in your bag on the go!
  • Sephora Favorites: Draw The Line Eyeliner Sampler ($28.00): I’ve tried all of these liners and have been impressed. The only thing it’s missing is that Stila Stay All Day liner…
  • Stila: Seeing Stars Smudge Stick Waterproof Eye Liner Set ($32.00): Everytime I see this I think about treating myself…these liners are kind of awesome and this is a really amazing price for them.
  • Lancôme: Le Curler Set Ready, Set Lash! ($36.00): Lancôme’s mascaras are really nice and this even includes a lash primer. My favorite part, though, is that curler. I adore lash curlers and I love that this set has everything you need!
  • Sephora Favorites: Lash Stash ($45.00): Mini mascaras are awesome because you can try out a new mascara for a few days before really committing. They are also great to have around in case you need to do someone else’s makeup–no contamination of your favorite full size tube!
  • Urban Decay: Ocho Loco 24/7 Glide-On Eye Pencil Set ($59.00): These pencils are the best. The set has eight full size liners, four of which are brand new. It’s pricey but  worth it.

LIPS

  • Sephora Collection: Gloss Lab ($25.00): Usually I’m not impressed with Sephora brand makeup, but these look really great over other lipsticks. For 25 bucks, this is a steal.
  • Stila: Long Wear Liquid Lip Set ($32.00): This might be my gift to myself this year. I discovered these liquid lipsticks a couple weeks ago and they really exceeded my expectations.
  • Tarte: 5-Piece LipSurgence Collector’s Set ($34.00): These lip tints are so easy to use, delivering a sheer dose of hydrating color quickly on-the-go. Great value since they are pretty big.
  • Fresh: Sugar Addiction Mini Lip Collection ($48.00): When I saw that they made this I just about died. I adore these lip balms–they are totally worth the splurge. The minis are a really great size.
  • Obsessive Compulsive Cosmetics: Pro’s Picks Lip Tar Set ($49.00): These Lip Tars are ridiculously amazing. They go on so pigmented and stay through everything. I actually have trouble getting them off (for me, that’s a sign of a great lip product!)
  • Nars: Kiss Mini Larger Than Life Lip Gloss Coffret ($55.00): From the Andy Warhol collection. The colors are pretty, but the real seller (for me, at least) is the limited edition soup can that they come in.

FRAGRANCE

  • Chloé: Chloé Minature Duo ($18.00): Small, but 18 dollars for some Chloé? I’m in!
  • Clinique: Complete Happiness Coffret ($39.50): The original Happy smells, well…happy. All of the scents are very clean and refreshing, and the tiny size would make them nice for travel.
  • Lady Gaga: FAME Holiday Gift Set ($57.00): This perfume is pretty special–I haven’t smelled anything quite like it. The set is adorable (but of course I would think that…I do love a good temporary tattoo!)
  • Taylor Swift: Wonderstruck Gift Set ($59.50): Any Taylor fan adores this. I think the bottle is beautiful (though I’m on the fence about that clutch) and I kind of love the song that inspired its name.
  • Burberry: Burberry Body Eau de Parfum Body Gift Set ($100.00): I got this for the holidays last year. Every time I wear this scent, people notice and comment on how great I smell. It’s a go-to for me, and I love the body milk (think body lotion, but thinner!)

BODY

BRUSHES

  • Stila: Holiday 2012 Brush Set ($28.00): 28 dollars for five essential brushes is a great deal. A great starter set!
  • Hello Kitty: 3-Piece Brush Set ($35.00): It’s Hello Kitty. Enough said.
  • Sephora Collection: IZAK Brush Set ($38.00): Any makeup brand/designer (especially French designers..) collaboration is a must-buy in my opinion. These are so whimsy and cute, plus the bag could be used for anything.
  • Sephora Collection: Collector’s Edition Premium I.T. Brush Set ($68.00): Sephora’s brushes are very impressive. This set is just looks so elite and high class that it’s hard not to appreciate it. Plus, the stand is a nice touch.

NAILS

  • The New Black: Ombre 5-Piece Nail Polish Set ($22.00): Available in 6 perfectly complementary shades, this set offers a range of creative DIY ideas. My mind is already spinning…
  • Urban Decay: Showboat Nail Kit ($28.00): UD’s polishes are insanely pigmented (no surprise there!) and easy to apply. I adore this kit.
  • Ciaté: CAVIAR Mini Mani Month ($58.00): If there ever was an advent calendar for a polish lover, it was this one. 24 polishes, including exclusive caviar blends? Magical.

Phew, that was a long list…and these are only the big categories! I’m so excited to use this  as a guide to find gifts for all my friends (oh no, I hope I didn’t spoil their surprises!)

Are you planning on treating someone or yourself to a beauty product this holiday season? Will you be taking advantage of the holiday sets? Have you seen any sets that I haven’t mentioned here? Post a comment below, tweet me @lilianebeauty, or send me an email at liliane.a.kelly@gmail.com!

Leave a Reply

